ec-earth / community / meetings / lisbon, oct 2018

EC-Earth meeting, Lisbon 22-24 October 2018

The EC-Earth community meeting in Lisbon was a 3-day event from the morning of the 22nd October (Monday) to lunch time of the 24th October (Wednesday).

You can find practical information  (premises, hotels, transportation,...) about the meeting here.

Below you can see the program, the posters list and the attendants list.

All the presentations are available here (restricted access).


22nd Oct (Monday)

09.00 - 10.30 CMIP6 experiments: a step-by-step demonstration

10.30 - 11:00 Coffee break

11:00 - 12:30 CMIP6 experiments: a step-by step demonstration (cont.)

12.30 - 13:30 Lunch break

13:30 - 15:15 Parallel breakout sessions: Technical WG / Ocean WG / AerChemMIP

15.15 - 15:45 Coffee break

15:45 - 17:30 Parallel breakout sessions: Tuning WG / Land Processes


23rd Oct (Tuesday)

09.00 - 09.05 Welcome (Fátima Espirito Santo, IPMA)

09:05 - 09:20 IPMA/FCUL climate activities (Emanuel Dutra, IDL)

09:20 - 09:40 EC-Earth current status (Ralf Döscher, SMHI)

09:40 - 10:40 Oral presentations (3 presentations, 20 min each)

  • Climate impact on vegetation and terrestrial carbon: implications from paleoecology simulations (Zhengyao Lu, Lund University)
  • Bias Correction of an EC-Earth Forced Dynamic Wave Climate Ensemble (Gil Lemos, IDL -Universidade de Lisboa)
  • BSC potential contribution to C4MIP (Raffaele Bernardello, BSC)

10:40 - 11:00 Coffee break

11:00 - 12:00 Oral presentations (3 presentations, 20 min each)

  • EC-Earth workflow activities in the BSC - Update on Cylc prototype (Miguel Castrillo, BSC-CNS)
  • The new generation of EC-Earth: Reproducibility, Accuracy and Computational Performance for CMIP experiments (Mario Acosta, BSC)
  • (Open)IFS-XIOS integration for the future EC-Earth 4 version: the benefits of outputting CMORized netCDF files (Xavier Yepes Arbós, BSC)

12:00 - 13:00 Lunch break

13:00 - 14:00 Oral presentations (3 presentations, 20 min each)

  • Arctic warming in EC-Earth Pliocene simulation (Qiong Zhang, Stockholm University)
  • Assesing stratospheric variability in EC-EARTH: high-top versus low-top resolution (Froila M. Palmeiro, BSC-CNS)
  • Improving the representation of sea ice variability and seasonal prediction (Eduardo Moreno-Chamarro, BSC)

14:00 - 16:00 CMIP6 session

16:00 -16:30 Coffee break

16:30 - 18:30 Poster session

17:00 - 18:30 Steering group meeting

20:00 Dinner (at own expense)


24th Oct (Wednesday)

09.00 - 10.20 Reporting back from the WG/breakouts (4 presentations, 20 min each)

  • Technical WG
  • Ocean WG
  • AerChemMIP
  • Land Processes

10:20 - 10:50 Coffee break

10:50 - 11:30 Reporting back from the WG/breakouts (2 presentations, 20 min each)

  • Tunning WG
  • CMIP6

11:30 - 12:00 Closing session

12.00 Lunch



Poster list

  • OpenIFS-FESOM2 coupled model (Jan Streffing, Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research)
  • CMORization of CMIP6 data: workflow from the data request to the final ESGF-publishable data (Arthur Eduardo Amaral Ramos, Barcelona Supercomputing Center)
  • NICEST and GRASS (Jukka-Pekka Keskinen, University of Helsinki)
  • Variability of the Atlantic Meridional Overturning Circulation in EC-Earth 3.1 simulations (Virna L. Meccia, ISAC-CNR)
  • Multidecadal variability of the extra-tropical atmosphere in EC-Earth 3.1 simulations (Federico Fabiano, ISAC – CNR)
  • Evaluation of EC-Earth CRESCENDO AMIP simulations (Tommi Bergman, KNMI)
  • Running the EC-Earth model at 15km : technical and scientific challenges (Thomas Arsouze, BSC)
  • Impact of snow cover on European climate high- and standard-resolution simulations with EC-Earth3 (Shiyu Wang, Klaus Wyser & Torben Koenigk, Rossby Centre, SMHI)


Attendants list as of 17-10-2018

Name Organization
Álvaro Silva IPMA
Ana Caldeirinha IDL
Ana Machado IDL-FCUL
Andrea Alessandri KNMI
Anna Lewinschal Stockholm University
Arthur Eduardo A. Ramos Barcelona Supercomputing Center
Christian Mathias Rohde Kiær DMI
Cláudia Lucas CENTEC-IST
Daniela Lima IDL-FCUL
David Stevens Instituto Dom Luiz
David Wårlind Department of Physical Geography and Ecosystem Science, Lund University
Declan O'Donnell Finnish Meteorological Institute
Dipanjan Dey Department of Meteorology (MISU), Stockholm University, Sweden
Eduardo Moreno-Chamarro Barcelona Supercomputing Center
Emanuel Dutra IDL, Lisbon University
Fátima Espirito Santo IPMA
Federico Fabiano ISAC - CNR
Franco Catalano ENEA
Francois Massonnet Université catholique de Louvain
Froila M. Palmeiro Barcelona Supercomputing Center (BSC-CNS)
Gil Lemos Instituto Dom Luiz, Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa
Jan Streffing Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research
Jenson Zhang Stockholm University
João A.M. Careto Institudo Dom Luiz
Jonathan McGovern Met Eirean
Jose Antonio Parodi-Perdomo AEMET
José María Rodríguez AEMET
Jost von Hardenberg ISAC-CNR
Jukka-Pekka Keskinen University of Helsinki
Klaus Wyser Rossby Centre, SMHI
Klaus Zimmermann SMHI
Kristian Strommen University of Oxford
Lars Nieradzik Lund University
Mariana Bernardino CENTEC, IST, Portugal
Mario Acosta BSC
Miguel Castrillo BSC-CNS
Miguel Nogueira Instituto Dom Luiz, Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa
Paolo Davini CNR-ISAC
Paul Nolan Irish Centre for High-End Computing (ICHEC), NUIG
Pedro Soares Instituto Dom Luiz, Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa
Philippe Sager KNMI
Qiang Li Stockholm University
Qiong Zhang Stockholm University
Raffaele Bernardello BSC
Ricardo Deus IPMA
Ricardo Tomé IDL
Rita Margarida Cardoso Instituto Dom Luiz
Risto Makkonen FMI
Sandra Plecha IDL/FCUL
Shuting Yang DMI
Susana Silva IDL
Susanna Corti ISAC-CNR
Tânia Costa IPMA
Teresa Costa Instituto Dom Luiz, Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa
Thomas Arsouze BSC
Thomas Reerink KNMI, EC-Earth consortium
Tommi Bergman KNMI
Torben Koenigk SMHI
Twan van Noije KNMI
Uwe Fladrich SMHI
Virna L. Meccia ISAC-CNR, Bologna, Italy
Wenxin Zhang Lund University
Wilhelm May CEC, Lund University
Xavier Yepes Arbós Barcelona Supercomputing Center
Zhengyao Lu Lund University
Zhou Putian University of Helsinki